HAVING TROUBLE LOGGING IN? PLEASE DO NOT CREATE A NEW ACCOUNT, USE THE 'FORGOT PASSWORD' INSTEAD!

How To Install and Run VAFS5

Support for VAFS 5 Pilot Client (App).

READ & FOLLOW THE POSTING RULES BEFORE POSTING!
User avatar
VAFS001
Class A Airspace
Posts: 2739
Joined: January 12th, 2012, 4:00 pm
VA Name: VAFS
VA ID: 1
Callsign: VAFS001
Location: Nevada
Contact:

Re: How To Install and Run VAFS5

Post by VAFS001 » January 26th, 2012, 3:30 pm

Cool!



Glad to help.



Mike
Image



584 - Pizzma's World Airlines - PWA644

toivo512

Re: How To Install and Run VAFS5

Post by toivo512 » February 18th, 2012, 3:29 pm

HI,

I can't install the VAFS 5 client, I get an error in startup script saying the TCLxxxx.tmp could not be found. When I look in explorer, it's there.



I'm running it as admin, using WIN7. To save space on my SSD C: drive, I redirect \Users to my spinning E: drive, is that causing the error?



I can email you a screen shot of the error box if needed.



Tom

User avatar
VAFS001
Class A Airspace
Posts: 2739
Joined: January 12th, 2012, 4:00 pm
VA Name: VAFS
VA ID: 1
Callsign: VAFS001
Location: Nevada
Contact:

Re: How To Install and Run VAFS5

Post by VAFS001 » February 18th, 2012, 8:49 pm

Hmmm never had that issue come up.



Does it install anything?



Mike
Image



584 - Pizzma's World Airlines - PWA644

toivo512

Re: How To Install and Run VAFS5

Post by toivo512 » February 19th, 2012, 3:20 pm

nope nada



Tom

toivo512

Re: How To Install and Run VAFS5

Post by toivo512 » February 24th, 2012, 2:49 am

any thoughts? dead in the water

User avatar
Sven2157
Class A Airspace
Posts: 2386
Joined: January 13th, 2012, 4:35 pm
VA Name: Chicago Flights
VA ID: 17898
Callsign: CFX2157
Location: Chicago, IL
Contact:

Re: How To Install and Run VAFS5

Post by Sven2157 » February 24th, 2012, 3:36 am

[quote name='toivo512' timestamp='1329578967' post='5164']

To save space on my SSD C: drive, I redirect \Users to my spinning E: drive, is that causing the error?

[/quote]



That may be the cause, if you don't "redirect" the Users folder correctly. When you move system folders (Yes, Users is one of those!) you need to readjust the Registry to reflect the change, or Windows will keep trying to write to the old location. The easiest way to do this, is by editing the Environment Variables. HOWEVER, if you are unsure what you are doing, I would consult a professional IT person, with a specialty in Windows 7. If you confidently change something in the EV section, you could cause your whole system to not boot.



Check you EV settings by clicking the Start Pearl, right click Computer, choose properties. Then click on "Advanced system settings", the Advanced Tab, and then on the Environment Variables button at the Bottom. Have a look at the "User variables for <YOUR_NAME>".



Where are the Paths for TEMP and TMP? They should both be, by default: '%USERPROFILE%\AppData\Local\Temp'



If yours are still, then you didn't re-locate your Users Folder properly.



DON'T CHANGE ANYTHING YET! JUST TELL ME WHAT IT SAYS!



Let me know... <img src='http://www.myvafinancials.com/v5/public ... >/wink.png' class='bbc_emoticon' alt=';)' />
Last edited by Sven2157 on February 24th, 2012, 3:58 am, edited 1 time in total.
Regards,

Sven2157

Image
DO NOT PRIVATE MESSAGE ME FOR SUPPORT, UNLESS ASKED TO DO SO!
PLEASE ASK IN THE FORUM!

toivo512

Re: How To Install and Run VAFS5

Post by toivo512 » February 25th, 2012, 3:04 pm

They're both %USERPROFILE%\AppData\Local\Temp

toivo512

Re: How To Install and Run VAFS5

Post by toivo512 » February 25th, 2012, 4:29 pm

Thanks for the tip .... I redirected both temps and changed the profile in regedit .... installed fine. Changed the VASF5 properties to always run as ADMIN ... works fine.



Jumping in the left seat .... Tom

NIL

Re: How To Install and Run VAFS5

Post by NIL » July 2nd, 2012, 10:39 pm

Hello!



I've tried to install the VAFS5 client for the very first time, as I am a completely new user. BUT! I can't use the client AT ALL...!?

It just says: "VAFS Error, please check error log."

I have both istalled it and executed it as an administrator an completely shut off the windows firewall, an made an exeption in microsoft security essentials.. Still no flights for me...!?



I use FSX w/Accelleration pack on Win7 with Microsoft Security Essentials

(I tried it on two seperate systems, same result)



To who shall I send the error log?



Thanks in advance!



Best regards,



Jesper Fuglsang Nielsen -

DAX - Diamond Air Xpress

Pilot ID / VA. ID

62314 / 20354
Last edited by NIL on July 2nd, 2012, 10:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
VAFS001
Class A Airspace
Posts: 2739
Joined: January 12th, 2012, 4:00 pm
VA Name: VAFS
VA ID: 1
Callsign: VAFS001
Location: Nevada
Contact:

Re: How To Install and Run VAFS5

Post by VAFS001 » July 3rd, 2012, 3:28 pm

Hey Jesper,



You need to go into VCAS, add a rank if you have not yet done so. And then go to your pilot information in VCAS, click on your pilot to edit the information and add the newly created rank to your pilot.



Mike
Image



584 - Pizzma's World Airlines - PWA644

Post Reply